DALE's Bio:

1-2 paragraph’s about who you are, were you are from, your hobbies/interests, family, or additional information you’d like to share

I have spent most of my adult life in western NC, with the most years here in Boone. I was raised in Charlotte and went to Lenoir Rhyne College and a few more years in Hickory. Then it was on to graduate school at App, afterwards lived in Black Mountain, a few years in Sanford, and since 1989, Boone. I have worked in the area of support services, education and counseling for my career. My last 25 years were at App State Wellness and Prevention Services and the Counseling Center. I am currently involved in a few programs in our area including teaching Prime For Life to young adults on behalf of Western Youth Network and assisting with the Avery County Drug Treatment Court Program.

 

I have been married to Deborah Kirkley for 41 years. We have two sons who live in Asheville and Wilmington. I enjoy outdoor adventure recreation especially biking and hiking, and getting out to wonderful scenic parks and natural areas.

DALE

Why I Joined RISE:

I heard about RISE in a newspaper notice and thought it sounded very interesting. The appeal for me was the gathering of people from all walks of our community who support each other, share openly and learn together in the process of rising and improving one’s life. This process has been amazingly rewarding. I have gained new friendships, a better understanding of the struggles and victories encountered in life, and greater hope for positive change happening at the grassroots community level.
 

 Email us:
RISE@hosphouse.org

​​Call us:

828-264-1237
& Ask for the RISE Program

​Find us: 

Thursday Evenings 5:30 PM - 7: 30 PM 
Boone United Methodist Church 
471 New Market Blvd | Boone, NC